In GamiPrime's reading, the practical split is this: plan for 130 GB of free space, and treat 8 GB of RAM as the launcher's listed minimum, not Steam's. Neither page says how the game performs on either.
Steam's Where Winds Meet system requirements, read on October 5, 2026, list 16 GB of RAM and 130 GB of free storage as the minimum. The game's official launcher guide lists 8 GB of RAM and a 60 GB quick package. Both are official, they disagree, and neither page explains why. GamiPrime did not benchmark the game or run any test: everything below is a reading of published pages, with the date each was read.
Where Winds Meet system requirements on Steam: minimum and recommended
The table below copies Steam's system requirements listing for app 3564740 word for word, except the line "Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system" and the additional notes, which are paraphrased, as read from the store page data on October 5, 2026 (19:34 UTC). DirectX is version 12 in both columns. The latest Steam announcement at that time was the version 2.2 [Perilous Eminence] update, published September 15, 2026. Its patch notes mention no change to requirements, file size or SSD advice.
| Minimum | Recommended | |
|---|---|---|
| OS | Windows 10/11 64bit | Windows 10/11 64bit |
| Processor | Core i7-7700K / Ryzen 5 1600 | Core i7-10700 / Ryzen 7 3700X |
| Memory | 16 GB RAM | 32 GB RAM |
| Graphics | GTX 1060(6GB) / RX 480(8GB) | RTX 2070 SUPER / RX 6700 XT / ARC A750 |
| DirectX | Version 12 | Version 12 |
| Network | Broadband Internet connection | Broadband Internet connection |
| Storage | 130 GB available space | 200 GB available space |
| Additional notes | Steam recommends an SSD drive for a better experience. | Steam recommends an SSD drive for a better experience. |
130 GB is a floor, not a promise: the page gives no frame-rate target and does not say what the 130 and 200 GB figures include. The game is listed as free to play, with in-app purchases, and was released on Steam on November 14, 2025.
Steam's requirement fields were read again on October 7, 2026 at 01:41 UTC and matched the October 5 reading, including the SSD note and the 130 GB and 200 GB lines. The newest Steam announcement was still the version 2.2 update of September 15. The guide and the third-party pages were not re-read.

Where Winds Meet storage size and SSD: what each official page says
For Where Winds Meet, Steam's SSD line is a recommendation. It appears in the same words under minimum and recommended, and it does not make an SSD a requirement.
The launcher's guide, dated November 3, 2025 and read the same day as the Steam page, gives different numbers. Its minimum row reads "60GB HDD available space, SSD recommended"; its recommended row reads "100GB SSD available space". Its FAQ says to reserve over 100 GB for the Standard Package and over 60 GB for the Quick Package, and it lists an Ultimate Package as not available at launch, with no size. On drives, it recommends an SSD over a hard disk and warns that getting the files may be slower on an HDD.
The guide never mentions Steam and does not explain the gap between its 60 and 100 GB and Steam's 130 and 200 GB. It also says the requirements may be adjusted in future updates, and it is a November 2025 page: whether it still matches the current build is not established.
One third-party page ties the packages to stores. allthings.how (updated November 13, 2025) says the Standard package is the Steam and Epic Games Store version and the Quick package is the launcher's. Treat that link between package and store as that site's claim, not as something the official guide confirms.
Where Winds Meet requirements on other sites: who says what, and when
Seven other pages came up in a search for the game's requirements, each opened directly on October 5, 2026. Most match either Steam's CPU, GPU and RAM or the launcher guide's, and none gives Steam's 130 and 200 GB. Some also show frame-rate figures and internal "demand" scores. They are not repeated here, because how they were produced is not stated.
| Source | Date shown on page | RAM min / rec | Storage min / rec | SSD |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Steam (official) | read Oct 5, 2026 | 16 GB / 32 GB | 130 GB / 200 GB | recommended |
| Launcher guide (official) | Nov 3, 2025 | 8 GB / 32 GB | 60 GB HDD / 100 GB SSD | recommended |
| game8 | Nov 7, 2025 | 8 GB / 32 GB | 60 GB HDD / 100 GB SSD | recommended |
| gamerequirementslab | Nov 14, 2025 | 16 GB / 32 GB | 100 GB / not listed | not stated |
| technical.city | Nov 14, 2025 | 16 GB / 32 GB | 100 GB / 100 GB | recommended |
| lagofast | "Last Update: 06/09/2026" | 16 GB / 32 GB | 100 GB / 100 GB | "recommended" (minimum tier), "strongly recommended" (recommended tier) |
| pcgamebenchmark | no date shown | 16 GB / 32 GB | 100 GB / 100 GB | not in the table; its text says "100GB of SSD space" |
| systemrequirementslab | no date shown | 8 GB / 32 GB | 100 GB / 100 GB | not stated |
| allthings.how | Nov 13, 2025 | Standard 16 GB, Quick 8 GB / 32 GB | Standard about 100 GB, Quick about 60 GB | recommended, all tiers |
The launcher guide's package sizes (over 60 GB and over 100 GB) and the exact SSD wording of Steam and the guide are in the section above.
lagofast's date is the one its page shows. The page also sells a game booster, so it is not a source for numbers. pcgamebenchmark lists a different minimum processor (Core i7-9700) from Steam's Core i7-7700K, one more small disagreement on a page with no visible date.

Three contradictions in the Where Winds Meet requirements
RAM: 8 GB against 16 GB
For Where Winds Meet, the launcher guide lists 8 GB of RAM as the minimum for both its PC row and its laptop row. Steam lists 16 GB. Pages whose figures match the guide say 8 GB, pages whose figures match Steam say 16 GB, and no page we opened says which one applies when the two differ. We found no published test of an 8 GB machine.
GamiPrime's reading: the lower launcher floor and the higher store floor may come from pages written at different times, since the guide is dated November 3, 2025 and Steam was read in October 2026. That is a guess about cause, and neither page supports it.
Storage: 60 and 100 GB against 130 GB
Steam lists Where Winds Meet at 130 GB minimum and 200 GB recommended. The launcher says over 60 GB for the quick package, over 100 GB for the standard package, and 100 GB SSD as its recommended row. No third-party page we read repeats 130 or 200, which makes Steam's figure both the largest and the least repeated.
GamiPrime's reading: a free-to-play game that updates often may need working room beyond the base game, and a store listing may budget for that where a launcher guide does not. That is an interpretation: no source we read says what Steam's 130 GB includes.
Does Where Winds Meet require an SSD?
Neither official page makes an SSD a requirement. Steam's additional notes recommend an SSD drive "for better experience", and the launcher guide says "recommended" or "recommend" every time. The only firmer-sounding wording is the guide's recommended row, "100GB SSD available space", which is a storage line, not a requirement statement. No page we opened says "SSD required", and where any "SSD required" wording comes from is not established.
What we found no measurement of for Where Winds Meet
We found no source for four things about Where Winds Meet, and this page does not fill them.
- The actual size of the files and of the game on disk, for either package.
- Whether the game is playable on 8 GB of RAM. The launcher lists it; no test is cited here.
- How much an HDD changes load times or stability compared with an SSD. The launcher only says getting the files may be slower.
- Any frame rate at any setting on any listed GPU. Neither Steam nor the guide promises one.
Before you start, open Task Manager (Ctrl+Shift+Esc), read the total memory on the Performance tab, and check that the target drive has the storage figure you are planning for. According to its guide, the launcher refuses to set the game up on a device below its stated minimum. That tells you whether the game is allowed to run, not how it plays on 8 GB, and the guide never says whether the Steam version applies the same check.
Bottom line by situation: RAM, storage and SSD
GamiPrime's reading, by situation:
- Drive nearly full: plan for Steam's 130 GB and treat anything less as a risk until your store or launcher shows the real size. The 60 and 100 GB figures come from the launcher guide, not from Steam's listing.
- 16 GB of RAM or more: you meet both official memory minimums. Neither page says how the game performs.
- 8 GB of RAM: you meet the launcher's minimum but not Steam's, and no source we read shows how the game behaves on that amount.
- Only a hard drive: both pages recommend an SSD and neither requires one. The guide warns that getting the files is slower and says nothing more.
Steam can change this listing with any patch, so the figures above are only as current as October 5, 2026. For how 13 free PC games compare on RAM and storage, see our side-by-side of Steam system requirements for free PC games.
Frequently asked questions
Can Where Winds Meet run on 8 GB of RAM?
The official launcher guide lists 8 GB as its minimum, while Steam lists 16 GB. GamiPrime found no published test of the game on an 8 GB machine.
Does Where Winds Meet need an SSD?
No official page requires one. Steam and the launcher guide both recommend an SSD, and the guide warns that getting the files may be slower on a hard drive.
How much storage does Where Winds Meet need?
Steam lists 130 GB minimum and 200 GB recommended (read October 5, 2026). The launcher guide gives over 60 GB for its Quick package and over 100 GB for its Standard package. Plan for Steam's 130 GB to be safe.
Why do Steam and the launcher list different requirements?
Neither page explains it. The launcher guide is dated November 3, 2025 and says requirements may change in future updates, so it may simply be older than the Steam listing.
Sources read
All pages below were read October 5, 2026. Steam and the launcher guide are the official sources. The rest are third-party pages cited only for what they display.
- Where Winds Meet on Steam, read October 5, 2026
- Where Winds Meet official PC launcher guide (page dated November 3, 2025), read October 5, 2026
- Steam news, version 2.2 Overview (2026-09-15), read October 5, 2026
- Steam news, version 2.2 Patch Notes, read October 5, 2026
- game8, system requirements, read October 5, 2026
- gamerequirementslab, system requirements, read October 5, 2026
- technical.city, system requirements, read October 5, 2026
- lagofast, system requirements, read October 5, 2026
- pcgamebenchmark, system requirements, read October 5, 2026
- systemrequirementslab, Where Winds Meet, read October 5, 2026
- allthings.how, PC specs explained